top of page
  • Writer's pictureMental Note

Keep Your Head Up

by Clara Maney, Freelance Writer


They tell me, “keep your head up”,

but what if it wasn’t up to begin with?

What if it was already bobbing

below the waves

gasping for air

when it was pushed down yet again?

What then?


What when a person that was forced to tread water

with no life vest

in a rocky storm

is then given weights to hold up?


There’s no “keep your head up”

I was already drowning.

You can’t tell someone who was pushed in the deep end

before they were even old enough for a swim lesson

to keep their head above the waves

if they haven’t gotten out of the water since.


So don’t think I’m ungrateful for your support

when I scoff, snicker, or sigh

at your attempt to give me strength.

Forgive me, for I’ve been forced to be strong for too long

and your feeble attempt at recognizing my resilience

just reminds me that I have to wake up every day,

only to swim in an ocean

without a life vest, or even a swim lesson

and with weights on my feet,

drowning my soul,

leaving only my head above the waves,

visible for the sole purpose of easing others

so they don’t feel the need to jump in

and carry me to shore.



9 views

Recent Posts

See All

Why I Write

by Clara Maney, Freelance Writer

bottom of page