top of page
  • Writer's pictureMental Note

Why I Write

by Clara Maney, Freelance Writer


I used to write for therapy

because the words in my head weighed me down,

and I needed to let them out.


I used to write for clarity,

when my heart and brain were in battle

and I couldn’t pick a winner.


Then, I began writing for art

because I loved the way my words

would drop from the depths of my soul

and bleed onto the pages of my notebook.


But now, I write because my body bleeds

instead of my words

onto bed sheets and not paper.


Now I write because I’m trying to reclaim the words I used to be so proud of

the same words you didn’t care about

when I meant them most.


I’m writing now because I’m scared I’ll stop believing that my words matter

after you pushed them, along with your fingers,

down my throat,

stopping the smallest word

with the biggest meaning:

“No”.



14 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page